Home by Ruth Yao

Stale air, stiff chair, and numbed ears. I begin the 7th hour of the transpacific flight. I left my home at 3:30AM for Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

Having grown up moving frequently, airports and planes create a mix of emotions for me. This time as I leave behind my home, my university, my family, my friends, I approach something not completely unfamiliar. I went to Concordia International School in Shanghai for three years in high school. But to be honest, I know I am drastically underprepared. I am never able to properly prepare for the new destination. A positive spin would be that I “live in the moment”. My personal view is that I just can’t wrap my mind around being in a new place, a new life till I’m there. And then sometimes it even takes weeks before it becomes “real” that I am living there.

While I should have been thinking about how to properly prepare: exchange money, packing power adapters, etc. Before leaving and now, sitting miles above the ocean, my mind keeps drifting back to the idea of home…whether home is a physical house, a loved one, etc. For now, I decide that every home has become embodied in me: my thoughts, feelings, beliefs, and actions.

I am leaving behind home. This sounds sad and makes me feel melancholy. However I know my new home in Hong Kong will make lasting impressions on me, just like my homes have done in the past.

Ruth, finding her way!
             Ruth, finding her way!
Leave a Reply

